[Review] T.H.U.M.B. - Primordial Echoes For Modern Bigfoots

"They vanished in the same forest without a trace. Not one of them was ever found or heard from again.'
'And you suspect what?' Scully asked. 'Bigfoot maybe?'
'Not likely,' Mulder answered deadpan. 'That's a lot of flannel to choke down. Even for Bigfoot.'
Scully sighed. She should have known better than to joke about Bigfoot to Mulder. Bigfoot wasn't a joke to him."
Mulder couldn't be more right. Bigfoot lives in Italy. Actually they're three of them, they're known with the alias T.H.U.M.B. and they spread stoner grooves all over the world. 

After a long period of hibernation, T.H.U.M.B. returned with their third release titled "Primordial Echoes For Modern Bigfoots". Frankly I had almost forgotten these Italians but their new album put them back on the stoner map. Twelve dirty 'n' heavy anthems compiling a potent album, one of these that makes you beer-thirsty. You cannot deny the groovy charm of the opening "Bigfoot" or "Monstergods" which sounds like a fuzzier version of QOTSA. T.H.U.M.B. show their blues roots in the acoustic "Lived Namow". An excellent example of band's tightness is "Road Song" where guitar, bass and drums complete each other filling the atmosphere with thick smoke, making breathing a really hard job...

To spice things up, T.H.U.M.B. had also their self-injection of psych -as many bands nowadays- which gives a really nice touch in songs like "Into The Deepest Green", "Pietrosaurus" and "Reaching The Afterglow". "East Clintwood" is pretty neat too with its acoustic guitar, gunshots and harmonica.  T.H.U.M.B. are a multi-tool. Yes sir. They've also successfully covered "Wear It Out" by 500 Ft. Pipe, making it one of their owns. Good work!

"Primordial Echoes For Modern Bigfoots" is exactly what it states. If you are one of this kind, a big, hairy, heavy bigfoot of our times and you like to groove, then  T.H.U.M.B.'s album is a big sweet piece of honey pie waiting for you to grab it. Thumbs up for T.H.U.M.B!

by Thanos

01. Bigfoot
02. Monstergods
03. Inconsistence
04. Lived Namow
05. Superlover
06. Wear It Out
07. Road Song
08. Into The Deepest Green
09. East Clintwood
10. Pietrosaurus
11. Reaching The Afterglow
12. Stonebridge Deluxe

Website | Facebook
For physical needs: Go Down Records

Post a Comment