[News] Calyces new song & video. Debut album coming soon


Calyces, the prog quartet from Athens, Greece released a song (+video) from their upcoming debut "Impulse to Soar". The song is called "Those Flames Are Dancing Wild" and it's now available via the band's youtube channel. The album has been set for release on 16th October 2020.

Production was made by Manthos Stergiou, guitarist/singer of the band and Hector Tsolakis (Need, Poem, Mother of Millions, Λευκή Συμφωνία κ.α.) while the mastering was done by Grammy award-winning sound engineer Alan Douches (Mastodon, Dillinger Escape Plan, Kvelertak). 
Jørgen Munkeby of the Norwegian band Shining is a guest in the song "Unfair Labor" (listen here). 
Calyces - Impulse to Soar cover artwork by Maria Stergiou
cover artwork by: Maria Stergiou

 The sound of Calyces combines '00s prog metal elements with '70s influences, bridging some of the main aspects of the genre. The 10 tracks of "Impulse to Soar" contain downtuned heavy riffing with polyrhythmic and atmospheric moments emphasising mainly in the groove, the melody and the energy through a very precise and scholastic songwriting.
1. False Awakening
2. Ego Dries Up the Ocean
3. Those Flames are Dancing Wild
4. Parasites
5. The Great Void
6. Wired Crown
7. Unfair Labor
8. Home
9. Beyond Sight
10. Uneven Loops (Instrumental)
11. We're Lost, but it's ok (Instrumental)

The album will be available in an "all inclusive" package containing black 180gr vinyl and a CD with two bonus instrumental tracks. Digitally it will be available in most platforms.
Calyces - Impulse to Soar vinylCalyces band photo 2020Calyces band photo 2020


more photos:
Calyces band photo 2020

Calyces band photo 2020

Calyces band photo 2020

Calyces band photo 2020

Post a Comment