[Compilation] WHATISPSYCH (by Octopus Pi)

WHATISPSYCH (by Octopus Pi)
I came across this cool compilation somewhere on facebook when I listened to a featured song someone posted - unfortunately I can't remember where/who in order to give the appropriate credits.

Anyway here we're dealing with a compilation recorded completely analogue in September & October 2012 at Megaphon Studios featuring 11 of Sydney's most underground psych acts like Dead Radio, Broadcasting Transmitter, Dead China Doll, East River, God K, Lyyar... in an over an hour mind-manifesting music trip.

It will be a limited edition, released in double vinyl format (deluxe and "normal") by O/π (Octopus Pi), an umbrella brand with a focus on creating innovative curated events incorporating DIY music, arts and performance (like Wormwood :: absinthe & psychedelia).

"WHATISPSYCH" is available in digital form for streaming and downloading in O/π's bandcamp where you can also pre-order the vinyl. I suggest you to give it a listen the soonest....

WHATISPSYCH is the first album to be released on Octopus Pi records.

The compilation was recorded analogue in September & October 2012 as the final project at Megaphon Studios Sydney (owned and managed for 26 years by Shane Fahey of Scattered Order & The Makers of the Dead Travel Fast). With co-engineers James Domeyko (Domeyko/Gonzalez), Laurence Williams (Hacks, Untergang Von Menschen) and Bill Johnston. Mastered by Darren Ziesing at Polybonk. Compiled and produced by Kimberley Galceran of Octopus Pi.

Featuring some of the most unique underground bands in Sydney in 2012: Broadcasting Transmitter, Dead China Doll, Dead Radio, East River, God K, Lyyar, Making, Nhomea, No Art, Psychlops Eyepatch & Roboter Haus.

Over 1 hour of mind-manifesting music from Sydney's underground!

Limited edition vinyl is available in classic sleeve or deluxe sleeve (hand-made, dyed, screen-printed fabric with a zine about the release!).

released November 21, 2012

released by Octopus Pi; produced by kimberley galceran; recorded by shane fahey, james domeyko, laurence williams & bill johnston; mastered by darren ziesing; featuring broadcasting transmitter, dead china doll, dead radio, east river, god k, lyyar, making, nhomea, no art, psychlops eyepatch & roboter haus

01. Dead Radio - Hit Jam #2 05:45
02. Psychlops Eyepatch - Modern Technology Fired My Father 04:35
03. East River - Gonzalo The Immortal 02:27
04. God K - Where You Begin 06:22
05. Lyyar - You Thought You Were Dreaming 05:38
06. No Art - Rhombus 03:53
07. Dead China Doll - Hallelujah 11:48
08. Roboter Haus - Cairo 06:37
09. Broadcasting Transmitter - Mandelbrot's Hangover 09:33
10. Making - Bubble 04:11
11. Nhomea - Cartesian Doubt 04:34

Post a Comment